Twitter – it’s not just what you’re eating for breakfast anymore.

Twitter was the LAST thing I thought was going to be a valuable part of my job search.  I basically decided to get on it so that I’d be staying on top of social media while my design skills were retreating in a rarely accessed part of my brain.  So I signed up with Twitter.com, wrote my profile & started nosing around for people that I knew.  But the real magic started with Tweetdeck.  It’s a companion free software that lets you see who you are following (All Friends), who’s talking to/about you (Mentions), customized searches, and even links to your Facebook friends updates.  I use the search function to find people that are talking about a specific topic, i.e. “unemployment” or “sustainability” or “Milwaukee”.  

Phil Gerbyshak has a great intro to Twitter/Tweetdeck here and also a slideshow from his presentation at Social Media University Milwaukee.  There is also a good post on Twitter for the job search, sparked by yours truly.  So get on there & start Tweeting!  Post links to articles that you find interesting, or inspirational quotes.  Follow some of your friends & see who THEY are following.  And when Friday comes, join the #FF party (#FF is a “hash tag” that refers to Follow Friday”) and tweet your favorites so people following you can find some new people to follow.  Follow?

Well, I’ve just reached the point where “follow” doesn’t sound like a real word anymore.  Happy Tweeting!

2 responses to “Twitter – it’s not just what you’re eating for breakfast anymore.

  1. Great resources! I need to get up to speed with Twitter. (I still feel silly saying I “tweeted” something.) This should help a lot. Thanks!

  2. Thank you for being my Twitter mentor! 🙂

Leave a Reply

